The Meadows Standardbred Owners Association is pleased to announce its 2013 MSOA college scholarship winners. The awards were formally presented in the winner’s circle on Adios Day at The Meadows.

“We are pleased to offer these scholarships along with our additional sponsors,” said MSOA President Rich Gillock. “Our scholarship program has continued to build every year, and this year we are pleased to give $11,500 in scholarship money to these deserving young people.”

A $5,000 MSOA Scholarship has been awarded to Shannon Teed, who will be entering West Liberty State this fall as a freshman. She will be majoring in Biology.

Ashley Conger has been awarded the $2,500 MSOA/CSC Insurance Scholarship. Also a freshman this fall, Ashley will be studying Pharmacy at the University of Findlay.

Ryan Zidek has been named the winner of the $2,000 MSOA/Trainforthefuture Scholarship. He will be a freshman this fall at Saint Vincent College, majoring in Communication.

The $1,000 MSOA/LCM Nutraceuticals Dr. Barry C. Betts Memorial Scholarship will be split this year between two recipients, Michael Fahy and Nick Walski. Fahy will be a junior double major at Marietta College this fall, studying Political Science and Asian Studies. Walski is a student at Edinboro University.  Walski is a junior at Edinboro University.

A new $1,000 scholarship this year, the MSOA/Nuclear Breeze Scholarship, will be split between Alexandra Indof and Alyssa Cummings. Indof will be a freshman at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, studying Nursing. Cummings will be a freshman at CCAC-North, also studying Nursing.

The MSOA Board of Directors would like to not only congratulate the winners, but also to thank our co-sponsors: Tom Svrcek and CSC Insurance, John Green and Trainforthefuture, Tom Cooke and Nuclear Breeze, and Dr. Larry and Mary Smith of LCM Nutraceuticals.