On Saturday, Dec. 28, The Meadows and the Meadows Standardbred Owners Association (MSOA) will honor the track’s top horses of 2019 at the annual “Day of Champions.”

During the live card, which begins at 1:05 PM, the connections of winners in 12 divisions will be presented with awards. Winners of  “Pacer of the Year,” “Trotter of the Year” and “Horse of the Year” will be revealed that day. All champions were selected by a vote of MSOA membership.

Trainer Norm Parker will be honored for a pair of 3-year-olds, Wild Wild Western and Explosive Form, while Nick Catalano co-owns two champions, Dracarys Z and April Ava. The awardees are:


2-Year-Old Colt/Gelding Pacer — Dracarys Z

Trainer: Carl Cocciolone; Owners: Carl Cocciolone, Mark Sosovicka, Nick Catalano, Dana Kahrig


2-Year-Old Filly Pacer — Coral Reef Hanover

Trainer: Dan Altmeyer; Owners: Dan Altmeyer, Richard Kelson; Lone Wolf Stables, Walter Gesek Stable


2-Year-Old Colt/Gelding Trotter — Stickler Hanover

Trainer: Steve Schoeffel; Owners: Virginia Schoeffel, Kathy Schoeffel, Daniel Goehle, Michael Munn


2-Year-Old Filly Trotter — Friday Night Storm

Trainer: Ray Romanetti; Owners: Lori Romanetti, Bernadette Luketich-Sikaras


3-Year-Old Colt/Gelding Pacer — Wild Wild Western

Trainer: Norm Parker; Owners: Jacobs Creek Racing, Andrew Altobelli, John Deters


3-Year-Old Filly Pacer — April Ava

Trainer: Scott Betts; Owners: Nick Catalano, Tim Betts


3-Year-Old Colt/Gelding Trotter — Explosive Form

Trainer: Norm Parker; Owners: George Romanoff, Mark Goldstein, Norm Parker Stable


3-Year-Old Filly Trotter — Lindy Misssunshine

Trainer: Wilbur Yoder; Owner Richard Hess


Older Horse Pacer — Dapper Dude

Trainer: Tim Twaddle; Owner: Micki Rae Stables


Older Mare Pacer — Touchamatic

Trainer: Bill Bercury; Owner: Renee Bercury


Older Horse Gelding/Trotter — Bluebird Jesse

Trainer: Sarah Andrews; Owners: John McGill, Adam Friedland


Older Mare Trotter — Maewegonow

Trainer: Richard Perfido; Owner: Thomas Mattingly


As part of the festivities, the MSOA will give away hats commemorating Dave Palone’s 19,000th career win. The first 100 patrons are eligible.